Tag Archives: fiona wylde

End of the Year Awards Party and Movie Premiere

The Gorge Windsurfing Awards &  Movie Premiere

End of the Year Party at Springhouse Cellar

Coming up this FRIDAY, September 6th, 6-10pm.

Food from Leah’s Lunch and beer and wine for purchase

FREE admission

Vote for your favorite Gorge Windsurfer NOW:


Voting ends Thursday, 9/5 at noon.

:: Board of Directors Election Results

The CGWA membership has voted on the 2011 Board of Directors; please join me in welcoming our newest Board members, Julia Norman and Jennifer “JJ” Johnson.

Thank you for electing me to the CGWA Board!  I look forward to becoming involved with CGWA and contributing to the windsurfing community in The Gorge.” -JJ

Thank you for selecting me as a CGWA board member for 2011!  I love windsurfing in The Gorge, and I’m looking forward to working with the CGWA board, staff, and membership to continue to improve our windsurfing opportunities and experience.” – Julia

The following candidates were reelected for another two-year term from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2012:

  • Laurie Balmuth
  • Bud Budworth
  • Steve Gates
  • Jim Haynes
  • Dave Nunn
  • Stu Watson
  • Fiona Wylde

Congrats to these individuals, and thank you all for donating your time and energy to CGWA in support of Gorge windsurfing.  Thank you, too, to the membership for taking the time to vote!

:: Gorge Windsurf Award Winners Announced

Gorge windsurfers have spoken!  The winners for the 2010 Gorge Windsurf Awards were announced at Sailworks’s end of season party on Sunday, September 5th.  The nominees were sent in from the windsurf community, and voted on by 164 participants.

The winners and nominees are as follows:

MOST SELFLESS WINDSURFER – This may reflect a one-time rescue or rescue attempt, or several selfless acts of kindness to fellow Gorge windsurfers.


  • Bruce Peterson
  • Temira Wagonfeld
  • Jim Tracy

And the winner is Bruce Peterson. “Bruce has committed his entire life to promoting windsurfing. He is a person who will bend over backwards to get you out on the water and having fun. He helps out anyone with questions about any aspect of the sport. On the beach he is always handing out spare parts and tidbits of critical information.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOST STOKEDYou know these people- their smiles are contagious and adds to your stoke. His or her positive attitude inspires and adds joy to your sessions.


  • Sean Aiken
  • Rael Isakowitz
  • Colleen Mihalik
  • Wyatt Miller
  • Daryl Morrissey
  • Bart Vervloet
  • Rob Warwick
  • MacRae Wylde
  • Jeff Young (posthumous nomination)

And the winner is Sean Aiken. “Sean Aiken is old school Hood River, yet remains as innovative today as he was in the 80s.  He has an encouraging spirit and enthusiasm for all things outdoors.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

DALE COOK BIG AIR AWARD – We all know Dale gets the biggest airs in the Gorge; that’s why we named this award after him. Now we want to know who else is going big and hucking huge.


  • Diane Chicon
  • Sven Esslinger
  • Brian Metcalf Perez
  • Garth Pond

And the winner is Garth Pond. “Garth has an amazing amount of energy, passion and enthusiasm for windsurfing – even after many years of sailing. He is extremely humble and modest about his gifted talents on the water whether he is hucking big, doing an amazing laydown jibe on a swell or just smok’n fast at the Hatch. He is always positive, has a smile to share and inspirational to many.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

GROM OF THE YEARGroms 18 years of age and under are a big part of the Gorge windsurfing community. This youth windsurfer is a good role model for his or her peers & enthusiastic about Gorge windsurfing.


  • Fiona Wylde

And the winner is Fiona Wylde. “Fiona’s love of the sport is infectious. She wants to do everything. She has competed in wave, formula, slalom, long distance, and freestyle this year. Her results have been great, but more importantly she has tried to improve herself every time she is on the water. She simply loves to sail.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

GORGE WINDSURFER OF THE YEARThis person is a steward of the Gorge and of windsurfing. He or she is a positive influence within the community. Overall good spirit, friendly windsurfer, kind to comrades and strangers, embodies and/or respects the Gorge lifestyle, etc.


  • Sean Aiken
  • Lars Bergstrom
  • Nathan Mershon
  • Jim Oakes

And the winner is Jim Oakes. “Jim is out there every windy day, for the sheer love of it. The guy goes off, has the full bag of tricks, but just does his own thing for the pure joy it brings him- he is not trying to show off for the crowds or cameras, or trying to win any awards or accolades- he just loves to sail!”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

FRED NOBLE GOLDEN SHOVEL AWARD – This award goes to an outstanding volunteer and supporter of CGWA and Gorge windsurfing.  The original recipient, Fred Noble, left his mark on most sites in the Gorge by literally digging in and creating new beaches at a time when beach access in the Gorge was scarce.  This year, the Board of Directors selected a person who has worked largely behind the scenes, donating several weekends and then some in support of CGWA.  Her smile lights up a room, and her hard work and dedication to the swap meets and other events is incredibly appreciated by the Board of Directors.

And the winner is Vel Budworth.